Thai Coconut Curry Squash Soup

I happen to be a huge fan of curry – Thai and Indian. I have a distinct memory of being hungry one day a few years ago, and my dad whipping up the most delicious yellow lamb (when I was eating meat) curry over white rice. There’s just something comforting about it. Is that just me?

Anyway, I was really craving Thai last week. Just kidding, I’m really craving Thai always, all the time, forever and ever. I spend half of my income each month on Cozy Noodles, Duck Walk, Noodles in the Pot and Penny’s in Chicago. It’s a sickness I don’t want cured.

But I was particularly craving Thai curry. My sister-in-law recently sent me a Thai soup recipe and I happened to have three small winter squash sitting on my counter waiting to be made into that creamy, Thai coconut curry soup. The original recipe I based this off of called for two acorn squash, but I had one acorn squash and two tiny blue hubbards, so I went with it. As I’ve said before, we make this easy, we do what we want in the kitchen.

I don’t even know what to say about this soup. It’s so easy and forgiving, exactly how you want a recipe to be. The only time consuming part is roasting the squash and that’s just like a nice little way to warm up your apartment while you unwind after work. And it’s so creamy. Seriously like velvet. It’s perfect with a little piece of toasted roti or naan or whatever carb sounds awesome for dipping.

Pairs well with an imported light beer because we’re obviously pretending we’re in Thailand while we eat this.

Thai Coconut Curry Squash Soup

Adapted from In My Bowl

What you need:

-3 small winter squash (I used one acorn and two acorn-sized blue hubbard squash)
-1 tbsp coconut oil
-pinch of salt
-14 oz can light coconut milk
-2 tbsp red Thai curry paste
-1-2 cups vegetable broth
-salt and pepper

What you do:

1. Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F. Halve and seed your squash (you can reserve seeds for roasted squash seeds). Place squash on a lipped roasting pan, flesh side up, and coat with coconut oil. Sprinkle with salt. Roast for 60-75 minutes, until fork tender and skin looks loose.

2. After squash is done roasting, let rest until cool enough to handle. Remove squash from skin and place flesh in a medium stock pot. Mash slightly with a fork.

3. To the stock pot, add entire can of coconut milk along with curry paste. Bring to a simmer over medium-high heat, and add vegetable broth (anywhere from 1-2 cups, depending on how thick you want your soup).

4. Remove from heat and let cool slightly. Blend with an immersion blender, or in batches in your food processor. Add salt and pepper to taste. Best served with a sprig of cilantro and a squeeze of sriracha.

NOTE: This can also be frozen in single servings (1-2 cups) in Ziploc freezer bags for up to six months. Just allow to thaw in fridge the night before you intend to eat it, then reheat in small sauce pan over medium heat.

One thought on “Thai Coconut Curry Squash Soup

  1. Pingback: Easy Shredded Chicken + 10-Minute Healthy Stir Fry | Grilled Cheese and Chutney

Leave a Reply

